Settling In

Hi everyone!

Seeing as I haven’t posted for two months in the time that I’ve been here, I thought it would be good to update the blog.

The past two months have just been settling in to the new environment. I’m living about a 50 minute train ride from London but this has proven to work out a lot cheaper for me, as my main expense is travel which is sooo much cheaper than trying to find any type of accommodation within London itself. Another benefit is where I’m living is almost right by the train station – a 7 minute walk (I checked, I timed myself).

London Met is located right next to the Arsenal stadium in Finsbury Park, so the train stops directly outside it which will be super convenient if I’ve had a bit of a sleep in in the morning, which if you knew me is about 90% of the time.

University starts on the 22nd of September, which is Tuesday next week. I’m looking forward to it, and despite my very long break I’m ready to get back into it.

So as I’ve said I’ve been here over 2 months now, and been having a break so you’re probably thinking, so what have you actually been doing?

Well, I thought you’d never ask! I did have a couple of bored moments at the beginning, as a train ticket to London costs £34 (About $83NZD with the exchange rate at the moment – HOW?!) so I tried to keep these limited until I purchase a Season Ticket which cuts down the prices of tickets as you’re buying them all at once.

So, I decided since the cost of living here is pretty high, why not get a job?! (I am on a Tier 5 Youth Mobility Visa so this allows me to study and work in the UK for up to 2 years.)

I was fortunate enough to have a family friend that helped me get a job at a bar/restaurant in a town called St.Ives in Cambridge (not the scenic, seaside St.Ives sadly).

I’m really enjoying it and it’s great to get some work experience in while I’m here. They’re even working around my days at uni so I can still work a few hours a week to boost my bank account.

The trips I’ve made into London have been super cool though, I want to go everyday.

My favourite area of London so far is Southbank – quite busy, but always bustling and a great atmosphere. I love just strolling around seeing what is happening down there.

In Southbank I also came across an Italian restaurant called Caffe Vergnano 1882. I have to mention this because the pizza blew my mind. I also had a peach iced tea which is the sweetest I’ve ever tasted and I fell in love. I can’t wait to go back here!

Can’t believe it’s almost the end of September, time is honestly flying! My birthday is coming up on the 3rd of October though, so it’s a milestone to look forward to!

I’m also going to a Rugby World Cup match between New Zealand and Georgia in Cardiff on the 1st of October so that will be amazing getting amongst the World Cup hype – up the All Blacks!

That’s pretty much all for now, I will start taking some photos of places I go also just to add to the blog – a few visuals never hurt anyone.

Thanks for reading!

Til next time,

Amber xx

Leave a Reply

